Gather the Pack

Oracle Text

Reveal the top five cards of your library. You may put a creature card from among them into your hand. Put the rest into your graveyard.

Spell mastery — If there are two or more instant and/or sorcery cards in your graveyard, put up to two creature cards from among the revealed cards into your hand instead of one.

Card Rulings

6/22/2015 Check to see if there are two or more instant and/or sorcery cards in your graveyard as the spell resolves to determine whether the spell mastery ability applies. The spell itself won’t count because it’s still on the stack as you make this check.