Bone to Ash

Oracle Text

Counter target creature spell.

Draw a card.

Card Rulings

1/22/2011 If the creature spell is an illegal target (because it’s left the stack, for example) when Bone to Ash tries to resolve, Bone to Ash won’t resolve and none of its effects will happen. You won’t draw a card.
1/22/2011 A creature spell that can’t be countered by spells and abilities is a legal target for Bone to Ash. The creature spell won’t be countered when Bone to Ash resolves, but you’ll still draw a card.