Canal Courier

Oracle Text

When Canal Courier enters the battlefield, you become the monarch.

Whenever Canal Courier and another creature attack different players, Canal Courier can't be blocked this combat.

Card Rulings

8/23/2016 Attacking a planeswalker isn’t the same thing as attacking a player. Both Canal Courier and the other creature must attack different players for the last ability to trigger.
8/23/2016 The game starts with no monarch. Once an effect makes one player the monarch, the game will have exactly one monarch from that point forward.
8/23/2016 Abilities that trigger whenever you “become the monarch” trigger only if you aren’t already the monarch. For example, if you are already the monarch as Custodi Lich enters the battlefield, its last ability won’t trigger.
8/23/2016 If the triggered ability that causes the monarch to draw a card goes on the stack, and a different player becomes the monarch before that ability resolves, the first player will still draw the card.